Hazardous Waste

Hazardous Waste from Businesses

The Recycling Zone accepts hazardous waste, electronics and fluorescent bulbs from businesses in Dakota County, including home-based businesses. View more information about the Very Small Quantity Generator Program, which is sponsored by the Dakota County Board of Commissioners and the Minnesota Office of Environmental Assistance.

For more information, visit the Recycling Zone website or call 952-891-7800.

Household Hazardous Wastes – The Recycling Zone

One aspect of solid waste management that generates a lot of questions is what to do with household hazardous waste. Most household hazardous waste is made up of everyday products that many of us have in our homes or garages. These are considered waste items when they are no longer needed or are no longer usable.

Even though these items are safe to use and to store when the label directions are followed, they should not be disposed of in the garbage. The Recycling Zone (formerly known as the Dakota County Eco–Site) was established as a disposal option for these and many other kinds of waste material.

The Recycling Zone is located at 3365 Dodd Road, in Eagan, about a block north of Yankee Doodle Road. The following materials are accepted without charge from Dakota County households:

  • Aerosols
  • Household cleaners
  • Thermostats
  • Antifreeze
  • Latex / oil base paint
  • Used oil / filters
  • Auto batteries
  • Lawn and garden products
  • Weed killers
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Mercury thermometers
  • Fluorescent bulbs
  • Pesticides
  • Dangerous or flammable materials
  • Gasoline
  • Propane tanks / gas cylinders
  • Poison, combustible, or corrosive ingredients

Hours of Operation

The Recycling Zone is open for household hazardous waste on:

  • Wednesdays
    9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Thursdays
    12 noon - 8 p.m.
  • Friday
    9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturdays
    8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

For more information, please visit the The Recycling Zone's website or call 952-891-7800 with questions.